The Martin Luther King web site at http://www.martinlutherking.org/ is misleading and dangerous. At first the site appears supportive. The front page looks professional and educational. Even the first paragraph or two of each section begins innocently. As you read further, you see that the "facts" this host wants you to know are subtly interjected until each article has made a completely different turn in its tone.
An important item to check is the author of any web page. The host of this site is an organization called "Stormfront" located at www.Stormfront.org. Stormfront is actually a white supremacist group named the White Nationalist Group.
The only reason I may use this site is to teach high school students how to be careful and responsible internet users. I might also use it for a lesson about racist groups. On the other hand, I would most likely avoid the site simply because I would not want to support it at all. I also think it may be irresponsible for me to introduce such an organization to someone else's children.
This site appears eighth on Google's Martin Luther King sites. The site is probably ranked this high because it is titled "Martin Luther King" and subtitled "A True Historical Examination."
Thursday, June 5, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment